About the Board

MSRS is governed by an 11-member Board of Directors that has a fiduciary responsibility to the members and beneficiaries of all MSRS plans, the taxpayers, and the State of Minnesota. The Board sets policies, hears disability and benefit appeals, and oversees the administration of all MSRS plans for state employees, as well as the Health Care Savings Plan (HCSP) and Minnesota Deferred Compensation Plan (MNDCP) for all public employees.

Duties, powers, and election of the MSRS Board of Directors are specified in Minnesota Statutes 352.03.

2021 MSRS Board Meetings

The Board generally meets every other month on the third Thursday. Meetings are held in the Retirement Systems of Minnesota Building at 60 Empire Drive in St. Paul, Minnesota. Meetings usually begin at 9 a.m. and are approximately two to three hours in length. Meetings are open to the public and subject to the Minnesota Open Meeting Law.

Occasionally a special board meeting may be necessary. The date and time will be posted on this website in advance of the meeting.

For more information, see Board Meeting Calendar.

  • Thu, January 21
  • Thu, March 18
  • Fri, April 2 - Special Meeting
  • Thu, May 20
  • Thu, July 15
  • Thu, Sept 16
  • Thu, Nov 18

MSRS Board Members

Mary Benner, Chair
Appointed by Governor
Term ends 1/02/2023

Michael LeDoux
State Patrol Plan
Elected by members
Term ends 5/01/2022

Joseph Sullivan
General/Unclassified Plans,
elected by members
Term ends 5/01/2024

Michael Schweyen
General/Unclassified Plans,
elected by members
Term ends 5/01/2024

Michael Roelofs
Appointed by Governor
Term ends 1/06/2025

Jim Schowalter
Appointed by Governor
Term ends 1/02/2023

Wesley Skoglund
Elected by retirees of all plans
Term ends 5/01/2024

Daniel R Gorman
Correctional Plan
Elected by members
Term ends 5/01/2024


Chester Jorgenson
General/Unclassified Plans,
elected by members
Term ends 5/01/2022

Jacqueline Terry
General/Unclassified Plans,
elected by members
Term ends 5/01/2022

Tommy Bellfield
Appointed by Met Council's
Transit Operations
Term ends at direction of transit union


Contact a Board Member

c/o Minnesota State Retirement System
60 Empire Drive, Suite 300
St. Paul, MN 55103

Email: MSRS_Board@msrs.us

Phone: 651-296-2761 or 1-800-657-5757

MSRS Administrative Staff

  • Executive Director
  • Chief Financial Officer
  • Chief Internal Benefits Officer
  • Chief External Benefits Officer
  • Chief Information Officer
  • Erin Leonard
  • Tim Rekow
  • Linda Henderson
  • Mark Manion
  • Kurt Augustin

Professional Consultants

  • Legislative Actuary
  • Consulting Actuary
  • Legal Counsel
  • Medical Advisor
  • Milliman
  • Gabriel Roeder Smith & Company
  • Kevin Finnerty, Asst Atty Gen
  • MMro Managed Medical Review

Becoming a Board Member

MSRS Board of Directors consists of 11 members.

  • Six directors are elected by active (presently working) members covered by an MSRS pension plan. The State Patrol Plan and Correctional Plan elect one board member each. The General Employees Retirement Plan and Unclassified Retirement Plan elect four members.
  • One director is elected by the retirees of all plans.
  • One director is appointed by the Metropolitan Transit Council.
  • Three directors are appointed by the Governor.

Elections are held during even-numbered years. The four-year terms for elected members begin the first Monday in May. Board vacancies are announced on this website and through direct mailings or emails to eligible voters.

  • In each election year, two positions become vacant for active participants of the General Employees and Unclassified Retirement Plans.
  • One election year includes a vacancy for an active participant of the State Patrol Plan.
  • The next election year includes two vacancies: an active participant of the Correctional Plan and one for a retiree representing all MSRS plans.

To learn how to become a Board member, see Board Election.