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About MSRS

The Legislature established the Minnesota State
Retirement System (MSRS) in 1929 to provide
retirement benefits for state employees.

MSRS administers multiple retirement plans
that provide retirement, survivor and disability
benefit coverage for Minnesota state employees,
the Metropolitan Council, and many non-faculty
employees at the University of Minnesota and
the Minnesota State university system.

Benefit Information

MSRS retirement specialists are a valuable
source of information and assistance regarding
your benefits. They can explain plan provisions,
provide you with a benefit estimate and counsel
you regarding your benefit rights and options.

MSRS retirement specialists are not registered investment advisors and cannot offer financial, legal or tax advice.
Please consult with your financial planner, attorney and/or tax advisor as needed.

We're Here 1o Help
CQuestions?

Phone: 1.800.657.5757
or 651.296.2761

Address: 60 Empire Drive Suite 300,
St. Paul, MN 55103-3000

Web: www.msrs.state.mn.us



http://www.msrs.state.mn.us

MSRS

Disability Eligibility

& Application Process

Disability Protection

As a member of the State Patrol Retirement
Plan, you have disability protection. If eligible,
the plan will pay you a disability benefit for

your lifetime or until you are no longer disabled.

This guide provides information about the
MSRS disability benefit and the application
process you need to follow. The forms you
need to complete are included in the back
of this guide.

The information provided in this guide does
not amend or overrule any applicable statute
or administrative rules. In the event of a conflict,
the applicable statute or administrative rule
will prevail.

Occupational Disability Defined

State law defines an occupational disability
as a physical or psychological condition
lasting at least one year that prevents you
from performing normal job duties required
by your position.

Types of Occupational
Disability Benefits

1 | Duty-Related Disability Benefit

The disabling condition or injury must occur
while performing duties specific to a position
covered by the State Patrol Plan that are
inherently dangerous.

¢ A minimum of one day of service credit is
required to be eligible for a duty-related
disability benefit. The disability benefit
provides a minimum of 60% of your
high-five average salary.

2 | Regular Disability (Non-Duty Related)

The disabling condition or injury may occur from

an activity while not at work, or while at work and
performing normal or less frequent duties that do
not present inherent danger and are specific to a
position covered by the State Patrol Plan.

e A State Patrol Plan member must have one
year of service credit to qualify for a regular
disability benefit. The disability benefit
provides a minimum of 45% of your
high-five average salary.




Application Steps

Submit Forms

e MSRS Disability Application
e Employer Certification Form
e Medical Statement (two required)

\

Review Process

e Managed Medical Review Organization (MMRO)
reviews application

¢ Approximately 45 to 75 days to complete

\

@ Determination

* You will receive a letter from MSRS regarding
the approval or denial of your application

e Upon approval, up to 180 days retroactive
pay may be available

e If denied, an appeal in writing to the Executive
Director can be submitted up to 60 days from
the date of the letter
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DISABILITY
Application
Reguirements
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Forms to Complete

Complete the following forms that are included in the back of this brochure in order to apply for a
disability benefit. We recommend making copies of the completed forms for your records.

1 | Application for Disability Benefit
(required)
The application must be signed in the
presence of a notary public. If you are

married, your spouse’s notarized signature
is required to acknowledge they are aware

of your benefit election. If your spouse does
not sign the application or no survivor option

is selected, MSRS is required by state law
to pay the 50% Joint-and-Survivor benefit

option. More information about these options

can be found on page 6 of this guide.

2 | Employer Certification
(required)

This form must be completed by your
employing agency/department and
returned to MSRS with a copy of your
position description.

3 | Medical Statement (two required)

Two medical providers must submit
evidence of your occupational disability
status. The statements must be completed
by a medical doctor, licensed psychologist,
nurse practitioner, chiropractor, physician
assistant or podiatrist. At least one of

the statements must be completed by

a licensed, practicing physician.

4 | Direct Deposit Agreement

(optional, but recommended)

We encourage you to sign up for direct deposit.
It is a secure, easy and worry-free way to
receive your monthly payments. Generally, your
payment is sent to your financial institution

the first business day of each month. If you do
not choose direct deposit, MSRS will mail you
a paper check. You may start or stop direct
deposit at any time.

5 | Tax Withholding Election,

Substitute Form W-4P

(optional, but recommended)

Some or all of your benefit is taxable income.
Complete this form to provide instructions to
MSRS to withhold federal and/or Minnesota
state taxes from your monthly benefit.

6 | Authorization for Insurance

Premium Deductions
(optional but must be eligible)

The Pension Protection Act of 2006 allows
certain retired and disabled public safety
officers to reduce taxable income by up to
$3,000 annually to pay qualified medical,
dental or long-term care insurance premiums.
MSRS must deduct the premium(s) from your
disability benefit and pay them directly to

the insurance provider. You can enroll in this
optional program at any time.




Documents to Provide
The following documents should be included when preparing your application for a disability benefit.

1 | Photocopy of Birth Records 2 | Photocopy of Marriage Certificate
(required for you & your survivor) (required, if applicable)
Payments cannot begin until you provide . )
MSRS with a photocopy of your birth 3 | Certified Copy of Divorce Decree
record. In addition, if you select a survivor and/or Domestic Relations Order
option, you must provide a photocopy of (required, if applicable)

your survivor’s birth record. Please write
your MSRS Account ID or Social Security
number on your survivor’s birth record.

During a marriage dissolution proceeding,
the court may decide to divide the assets

of the MSRS retirement plan between the
Birth Record Contacts parties. If you are currently divorced, or have
been divorced, you must provide MSRS with
certified copies of any divorce decrees and/
or domestic relations order (DRO) before
you can collect a retirement or disability
Online at: www.health.state.mn.us benefit. These documents are required even
- if the assets will not be divided between

the parties and regardless of when the
divorce occurred. For more information on

Online at: www.cdc.gov/nchs/w2w.htm how divorce may affect your benefit, please
contact MSRS.

If you were born in Minnesota, you can
go to any local Registrar or the Minnesota
Department of Health of Vital Records:

If you were born in another state:

LN

Disability Benefit Application Deadline

You must apply for a disability benefit within 18 months after you end
state employment.
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CHOOSING

Benetit Options

When you apply for a disability benefit, you may choose the Single-Life benefit, a Joint-and-Survivor
benefit, or the Life Income, 15-Year Certain (see table for details).

Naming a Survivor

Anyone may be named as your survivor. If you
are married, your spouse must sign the disability
application in the presence of a notary public
acknowledging your survivor benefit election.
Minnesota law requires that your spouse receive
at least a 50% Joint-and-Survivor option unless
they waive their right to this benefit. You may

also name multiple survivors.

Considerations When Choosing
a Benefit Option

¢ Your health and your survivor’s health
¢ Your retirement income needs

e Your survivor’s income needs after
your death

¢ Other sources of income you
may have

Bounce-Back Provision

If you elect a 100%, 75% or 50%
Joint-and-Survivor benefit option and

your named survivor predeceases

you, your monthly benefit will increase

or bounce-back to the Single-Life

benefit amount. Before your benefit

can be adjusted, you must notify MSRS
and provide a copy of the death certificate.

Changing Your Benefit Option

30 Days After Approval for Disability

MSRS will send you a Benefit Authorization letter
confirming the monthly benefit amount about

the time you receive your first payment. You

may change your survivor benefit election if the
change is made within 30 days of the date of
your MSRS Benefit Authorization letter. You must
complete a new application in order to change
your election. Contact MSRS to request a new
disability application.

Full Retirement

If you choose the Single-Life benefit when you
apply for a disability benefit, you may change
your election when you reach full retirement
age or after five years of receiving a disability
benefit, whichever is later. Choosing a survivor
benefit will reduce your monthly payment but
provides a payment to your survivor upon your
death. More information about reaching full
retirement is available on page 11 of this guide.




Benefit Options Described

If you decide to provide a monthly benefit to a survivor, you will receive a lower monthly benefit to
provide this additional coverage. The benefit reduction is based on the age difference between you
and your survivor. The younger the survivor is, the greater the reduction in your monthly benefit.

BENEFIT OPTION

Single-Life

Provides a benefit for
your lifetime only

If you select this option, you will receive a monthly benefit for your lifetime
or until you are no longer disabled. When you die, the monthly benefit
stops. Any remaining employee contributions in your account will be paid
to your beneficiary.

100% Joint-and-Survivor

Provides maximum
survivor coverage

If you select this option, you will receive monthly payments for your lifetime
or until you are no longer disabled. When you die, your named survivor will
continue to receive the same amount you were receiving for their lifetime.
If your named survivor dies before you, your monthly benefit will increase
or “bounce back” to the Single-Life benefit amount after MSRS has been
notified and receives a death certificate.

75% Joint-and-Survivor

Provides some
survivor coverage

If you select this option, you will receive monthly payments for your lifetime
or until you are no longer disabled. When you die, your named survivor will
receive 75% of the amount you were receiving for their lifetime. If your named
survivor dies before you, your monthly benefit will increase or “bounce
back” to the Single-Life benefit amount after MSRS has been notified and
receives a death certificate.

50% Joint-and-Survivor

Provides some
survivor coverage

If you select this option, you will receive monthly payments for your lifetime or until
you are no longer disabled. When you die, your named survivor will receive 50%
of the amount you were receiving for their lifetime. If your named survivor dies
before you, your monthly benefit will increase or “bounce back” to the Single-Life
benefit amount after MSRS has been notified and receives a death certificate.

Important! If you are married, you must provide at least a 50% survivor
option for your spouse unless they waive coverage.

Life Income, 15-Year Certain

Provides you a lifetime
monthly benefit

If you die before collecting monthly payments for 15 years, your survivor(s)
continue to receive payments for the balance of the 15-year term.

If you live longer than 15 years, your monthly benefit continues for
your lifetime or until you are no longer disabled; however, there is
no monthly payment to a survivor upon your death.

If both you and your survivor die within 15 years, the balance will
be paid to your estate.
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DISABILITY
Approval, Benefits
& Resources
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Approval or Denial of Benefit

You will receive a letter from MSRS to confirm
whether you have been approved or denied for
a disability benefit.

Benefit Payments

First Benefit Payment

You will receive a Benefit Authorization letter
around the same time you receive your first
disability benefit payment. The letter:

e \Verifies the amount of your first payment
and the ongoing benefit amount.

¢ Confirms your optional benefit selection (for
example, 100% Joint-and-Survivor option)

e \Verifies when you will receive your
monthly benefit

¢ Provides important tax information

You will receive your first disability payment
about six weeks from the date of approval for a
disability benefit. You may be paid retroactively
from the last pay period in which you received
compensation (including earnings, sick leave,
vacation, vacation donation, or workers’
compensation) or 180 days from the date that
we received your entire disability application,
whichever is later.

Your first benefit payment is typically higher
due to the retroactive payment.

If you are receiving a retirement benefit at

the time you are approved, the benefit will be
converted to a disability benefit on the first

of the month following approval. You may be
paid retroactively for the difference between a

retirement benefit and a disability benefit.

Subsequent Monthly Payments

Monthly payments will be available in your bank
account the first business day of each month if
you signed up for direct deposit. If you receive
payment by check, add five business days

for mailing time.

Annual Benefit Increases

You may be eligible for a benefit increase in
January of each year. Your first increase may
be prorated depending on when your benefit
started. You will receive a letter each December
to confirm your benefit increase.

Service with Another
Minnesota Public Employer

If you have allowable service with another
Minnesota public employer, for example the
Teachers Retirement Association (TRA) or the
Public Employees Retirement Association (PERA),
you may be eligible for a disability benefit from
that fund.

The benefit you receive will be based on the
service credit you accrued with the other
retirement plan. Both plans will use the same
five-high average monthly salary to calculate
the benefit. You will receive a separate payment
from each plan. Please contact your other plan
administrator to request disability forms and
benefit estimates.




Resources

As 3 Minnesaota public employee, you may be eligible for benefits administered by other providers. When
applying tor a disability benefit, use the list below as a guide to coordinate your benefits.

Public Employees Retirement
Association (PERA)

Teachers Retirement
Association (TRA)

If you are covered by multiple Minnesota
public retirement plans, the service
credit earned from all plans can be
combined with your MSRS service to
qualify for additional retirement benefits.
This is called a Combined Service
Annuity (CSA).

6 6

PERA:
651.296.7460 or 1.800.652.9026

TRA:
651.296.2409 or 1.800.657.3669

PERA: www.mnpera.org
TRA: www.minnesotatra.org

Social Security
Administration

For information, estimates or to apply for
your benefits, contact the Social Security
Administration 90 days prior to your
retirement date if you are age 62 or older
at retirement and eligible for a benefit.

&

Social Security:
WWW.SSsa.gov

Retiree health, dental
& life insurance
benefit information

Contact your agency/department
designated insurance representative
regarding health, dental, and life
insurance coverage.

State Employees-
Minnesota Management
& Budget (MMB):
651.355.0100

University of Minnesota
Employee Benefits Office:
612.624.8647 or 1.800.756.2363

Metropolitan Council-
Benefits One Line:
651.602.1601

Minnesota Deferred
Compensation Plan (MNDCP)

Health Care
Savings Plan (HCSP)

Contact MSRS for plan information and
payout options.

Payouts and reimbursements cannot begin
until after you leave employment or retire.

PG G 6 6

MSRS Retirement Specialist:
651.296.2761 or 1.800.657.5757

MSRS Website:
www.msrs.state.mn.us

University of Minnesota
tax-sheltered benefit program

Plan information & withdrawal options

University of Minnesota
612.624.8647 or 1.800.756.2363

Long-term Disability (LTD),
The Hartford

If enrolled, benefits begin after you have
been totally disabled for six consecutive
months, known as the elimination period.

PG &

The Hartford
952.656.6900 or 1.800.752.9713

www.thehartford.com
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ADDITIONAL

Disabllity Benetit
Information

e B

Ongoing Disability Reviews

MSRS is authorized by Minnesota law to conduct
ongoing reviews of your eligibility to receive a
disability benefit. We will notify you by letter
when a review is required. There are two types
of reviews — a medical status review and an
annual earnings review.

Medical Status Review

Following disability approval, you must submit
medical records supporting the ongoing disabling
condition once a year for the first five years, then
once every three years until you reach normal
retirement. You must submit these medical
documents for your disability benefit to continue.

MSRS will send you a Disability Medical Status
Review form for you to complete and return.
We will contact the medical provider you list
on your form for information regarding your
disability status.

If it is determined you no longer meet the
definition of disability as defined by Minnesota
state law, your disability benefit will end. You
may appeal this determination by contacting
MSRS in writing within 60 days of the date of
your denial letter from MSRS.

Annual Earnings Review

MSRS is required by law to monitor earnings
from re-employment and workers’ compensation
payments on an annual basis. We will contact
you when an earnings review is required.

If you resume employment while receiving a
disability benefit from MSRS, the amount you
may earn is limited. If you exceed the earnings
limitation, your benefit may be affected. Contact
MSRS for information regarding re-employment
while collecting a disability benefit.

Income Taxes
Duty Disability

If approved for a duty-related disability benefit
prior to July 1, 2015, the monthly benefit is
tax free or partially tax free until age 65 or the
five year anniversary of the effective date of
the disability, whichever is later.

If approved for a duty-related disability benefit
after June 30, 2015 the monthly benefit is

tax free or partially tax free until age 55 or the
five year anniversary of the effective date of
the disability, whichever is later.

The preferential tax treatment applies only to the
minimum benefit payable (20 years). The portion of
the benefit amount derived from service exceeding
20 years is taxable income. If less than 20 years of
service credit, the entire benefit is tax free.

Regular (non-duty) Disability

A regular disability benefit is taxable income. When
you apply for a disability benefit, you can request
that MSRS withhold federal and/or Minnesota
state income taxes from your monthly benefit
payments. If no tax withholding instructions are
provided, federal taxes will be withheld at the
standard rate of married with three allowances
(regardless of your marital status). No state taxes
will be withheld.




Reaching Full Retirement

If you are still disabled when you reach

full retirement, your disability benefit will
convert to a regular retirement benefit. Your
monthly payment amount will remain the
same unless you change your benefit option
from Single-Life to a survivor benefit.

Full Retirement Definition

Full retirement is based on when your
disability begins.

e If you were approved for a disability
benefit after June 30, 2015, full retirement
occurs at age 55 or five years after you
are approved for a disability benefit,
whichever is later.

¢ |f you were approved for a disability
benefit prior to July 1, 2015, conversion
occurs at age 65 or five years after you
are approved for a disability benefit,
whichever is later.

Choosing a Survivor Benefit

At retirement, you have the opportunity to select
a survivor benefit if you chose a Single-Life
benefit when you applied for a disability benefit.
See page 7 of this brochure for additional details
about your benefit options.

Marriage Dissolution while
Receiving a Disability Benefit

When a marriage dissolution occurs while
receiving a disability benefit, a portion of your
benefit may be awarded to your former spouse.
Both parties are eligible for post-retirement
increase(s) on their portion of the benefit. If a
survivor optional benefit was selected when

the disability benefit began, the optional benefit
may be revoked if the revocation is addressed in
the divorce decree or domestic relations order.
Please contact MSRS for additional information.

Workers’ Compensation

If you are receiving an MSRS disability benefit
and qualify for workers’ compensation, the

workers’ comp benefit may be reduced by the
amount of the benefit you receive from MSRS.

7 ///\\\\\\\

Change of Address

Call MSRS to change your address:
651.296.2761 or 1.800.657.5757

www.msrs.state.mn.us

It is important to notify MSRS of any temporary or permanent address
changes to ensure all of our mailings reach you.

Download the Personal Information Change form from our website:
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OTHER
Plans Administered
by MSRS

Minnesota Deferred
Compensation Plan

The Minnesota Deferred Compensation Plan
(MNDCP) is a voluntary retirement savings plan
available to all Minnesota public employees
including state, city, county and school districts.

Contributions at Retirement

If you terminate employment or are approved

for a disability benefit, you may be eligible for
severance, vacation payout, or other payments
associated with retirement. It may be possible to
contribute some or all of these payments to your
MNDCP. This allows you the opportunity to add
to your retirement savings. Contact MSRS for
more information.

Withdrawal Options

You may begin receiving payments from your
MNDCP account 30 days after termination of
employment or approval for a disability benefit.
You have several flexible withdrawal options that
are described in the MNDCP Retirement Guide.

Returning to Work

If you return to work as a Minnesota public
employee because you are no longer disabled,
you can elect to restart contributions to your
MNDCP account. Please note, if you restart
your contributions you will no longer be eligible
to take withdrawals from your MNDCP account.
Contact MSRS for more information.



Health Care Savings Plan

The Health Care Savings Plan (HCSP) is a
tax-free, employer-mandated savings plan to
be used post-employment for reimbursement
of out-of-pocket medical expenses. Assets in
the account accumulate tax-free and because
they are used to reimburse eligible health care
expenses, they remain tax-free.

Contributions to the Plan

Contributions to the HCSP are employer-
mandated and written in a bargaining agreement
or personnel policy. Only negotiated or agreed
upon contributions are allowed. Contributions

can be from a variety of sources including payroll
deductions, severance, vacation payout when you
leave employment, or mandatory leave payouts
(for example, comp time).

Reimbursement Requests

Upon termination of employment or
approval of a disability benefit, you are
eligible to request reimbursements of
medical expenses incurred since your
termination date or the date your disability
benefit began. Expenses can be incurred
by you, your spouse, legal tax dependents
or adult children up to their 26th birthday.

Returning to Work

If you return to State of Minnesota employment
because you are no longer disabled, you may
have limited or no access to your HCSP account.
Contact MSRS for more information.

Forms & Information
HCSP Welcome Packet

You will receive an HCSP welcome packet
that includes information about the plan and
investment options, as well as the forms to
complete. The packet will be sent to you
about four weeks after your employer remits
an HCSP contribution and/or enters your
termination date in the payroll system.
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DISABILITY

Application Checklist

Contact an MSRS Disability Specialist to discuss the initial phases of the disability process when
applying for a disability benefit. Use this checklist to guide you through the disability application
process. There may be additional steps you need to take as part of this process.

D Review the benefit estimate(s)
included in the folder with this brochure

Review the survivor benefit options

Contact any other retirement funds directly
for more information if you have service with another Minnesota public
pension plan such as PERA or TRA - you may be eligible for additional benefits

Contact your employer to discuss:
¢ Health care coverage
e Life insurance options
¢ Severance eligibility and if it will be paid in cash or
contributed to your Health Care Savings Plan (HCSP)

0 00

Contact your local Social Security office
to inquire or apply for a disability benefit

If you have long-term disability insurance,
contact your provider to discuss payment and offsets

If you have a Minnesota Deferred Compensation Account (MNDCP),
contact MSRS to discuss your distribution options following separation from service

Complete the optional Direct Deposit form to have your monthly payment deposited
into your financial institution on the first business day of each month

Complete the optional Tax Withholding Election, Substitute Form W-4P form to
withhold federal and/or Minnesota state taxes from your monthly benefit

Complete the optional Authorization for Insurance Premium Deductions form to allow
MSRS to deduct and pay your insurance provider directly by deducting it from your disability
benefit for any qualified medical, dental or long-term care insurance premiums

0 0000D~0
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Final Steps
Send completed forms and required documents to MSRS. All four forms must be received by MSRS
in good order within 18 months of the date you terminate state employment, as required by

Minnesota law. Forms received after the deadline cannot be accepted and will result in a denied
application for disability benefit.

Complete (4) forms included with this brochure to apply for a disability benefit:
Application for Disability Benefit — completed by you
Employer Certification — completed by your employer

Medical Statement — completed by a licensed, practicing physician

0000

Medical Statement - completed by a different medical professional

Gather required documents you must provide MSRS:

Photocopy of birth records - required for you and your survivor

Photocopy of marriage certificate - required, if applicable

000

Certified copy of divorce decree / domestic relations order - required, if applicable

(R

Submit Your Application Right Away

Submit your application for a disability benefit as soon as you are no longer

working. You do not need to terminate employment. You may be on a paid or
unpaid leave of absence. We strongly recommend that you DO NOT wait for
your sick leave or vacation time to run out before submitting your application.
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Notes




Contact Us — We’re Here to Help

Questions?

o

Q@
@

Contact the MSRS Service Center:
1.800.657.5757 or 651.296.2761

Go online:
www.msrs.state.mn.us

Email us:
info@msrs.us

Make an appointment to speak
with a retirement specialist.

Locations

St. Paul - Main Office

60 Empire Drive, Suite 300
St. Paul, MN 55103
Monday - Friday

8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Additional Offices
Addresses and hours of operation available online.

e Duluth e Mankato
e St. Cloud e Detroit Lakes
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